Students who want to pursue a career in architecture will have to qualifyNATA(National Aptitude Test in Architecture) for securing an admission in any of the Architecture colleges in India.

National Aptitude Test in Architecture (NATA) is being conducted by the Council of Architecture(COA) to provide a single window system for appearing in aptitude test and to facilitate institutions, students and public at large for admission to First year of 5 year B.Arch Degree Course at all recognized institutions all over country.

NATA scores are used by admissions authorities of different Government, Govt. Aided & unaided schools / colleges of Architecture, to provide common measure for comparing the qualifications of applicants for admission in addition to their scholastic performance in 10+2 or equivalent examination.

NATA measures the drawing and observation skills, sense of proportion, aesthetic sensitivity and critical thinking ability.


Any person having passed SSC (Std X) or equivalent examination can appear for NATA. However, candidates having 50% marks in 10+2 or equivalent examination with mathematics as one of the subjects, only are eligible for admission to B.Arch.Course.


NATA is usually held throughout the admissions season. In 2012, NATA Test shall commence from 15th March, 2012 and can be given on any working day till 31st August, 2012 at designated Test Centres. The e-score card of a candidate is usually available 4 days after the day of his test.


A question paper consisting of two questions - free hand drawing and memory sketch, will be generated and printed for the candidate. Test Center supervisor will hand over the print out along with drawing paper (Answer sheet) with preprinted barcode to the candidate and lead him / her to the testing room.

Computer based test will be given after completing the Paper based test.

The test is in two parts. A paper based drawing test for two hours and computer based online aesthetic sensitivity test.

Drawing Test:

This is a two hour paper where candidate has to attempt three questions.
The drawing aptitude is judged on the following aspects -
  1. Ability to sketch a given object proportionately and rendering the same in visually appealing manner.

  2. Visualising and drawing the effects of light on the object and shadows cast on surroundings.

  3. Sense of perspective drawing.
  4. Combining and composing given three dimensional elements to form a building or structural form.

  5. Creating interesting two dimensional composition using given shapes and forms.

  6. Creating visual harmony using colours in given composition.

  7. Understanding of scale and proportions.

  8. Drawing from memory through pencil sketch on themes from day to day experiences.

Aesthetic Sensitivity Test:

This is a computer based test where candidate has to answer 40 multiple choice questions.

The aesthetic sensitivity test measures perception, imagination and observation, creativity and communication along with architectural awareness and comprises of -

  1. Visualising three dimensional objects from two dimensional drawings.

  2. Visualising different sides of three dimensional objects.

  3. Identifying commonly used materials and objects based on their textural qualities.

  4. Analytical reasoning.

  5. Mental Ability.

  6. maginative comprehension and expression.

  7. Architectural awareness.


NATA can be given as many number of times as desired by the candidate. For every attempt, however, a new form will have to be purchased from the designated branches of the Axis Bank. The mark list will show the average of marks scored by the candidate in his last attempt and his previous valid score.


The answer to each question in the 'drawing' paper will be examined by a panel of three examiners independently and the marks are averaged. It may be further subject to moderation. During the computer based test, with adaptive testing, an examinee is administered a set of questions with a difficulty level that is specifically designed to match the examinee's ability level. The mathematical process for calculating a score in this situation incorporates the statistical properties of the questions, the examinee's performance on the questions, and the number of questions that are answered.

There is no negative marking in this test.

NATA score reporting is cumulative. Current NATA policy states that the candidate's scores are retained for the two years from the date of last test taken.


As per Council of Architecture regulations, a candidate applying to any school / college of architecture in India should have 50% marks in 10+2 or equivalent examination with mathematics as one of the subject and have achieved 40% score in NATA, i.e. at least 80/200, for consideration of admission into first year of 5-year B.Arch. Degree Course.

The admissions shall be carried out by the Competent Authority i.e. Government or University, or such Authorities/Institutions Concerned (School/College of Architecture)/Association or federation of Institutions (Schools/College of Architecture) as approved by the Government/University, based on the marks obtained in NATA and the qualifying examinations in the ratio of 50:50. The reservation policy for admission as applicable from time to time by the Central/State Government shall be followed.

  General Terms and Conditions Privacy Statement Refund Policy
  Copyright 2007Triumphant Institute Of Management Education Pvt. Ltd. All rights reserved.
  Best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution
Site map