About JEE Main


The Joint Entrance Examination, JEE (Main) will be an admission criteria to Undergraduate Engineering Programs at NITs, IIITs, other Centrally Funded Technical Institutions, Institutions funded by participating State Governments etc.  The States of Madhya Pradesh, Haryana, Uttrakhand, Nagaland & Odisha have joined JEE (Main) system. Therefore, the candidates seeking admission to the institutions in these states, which were earlier admitting based on their State level examination, are also advised to fill in the JEE (Main) -2018 application form online.

The paper 1 (B.E./ B.Tech) of JEE (Main) will also be an eligibility test for the JEE (Advanced), which the candidate has to take if he/she is aspiring for admission to the undergraduate programmes offered by the IITs/ISM Dhanbad. You can click here to get details of JEE (Advanced) 2018.

The list of participating institutions in JEE (Main) 2018 include 31 NITs, 22 IIITs , Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology, Delhi Technological University and other deemed universities. See full list here.

Admission to NITs, IIITs and CFTIs participating though Central Seat Allocation Board will be based on All India Rank subject to the condition that the candidate should have secured at least 75% marks in the 12th class examination, or be in the top 20 percentile in the 12th class examination conducted by the respective Boards. For SC/ST candidates the qualifying marks would be 65% in the 12th class examination.

Click here for Top 20 percentile cut-offs for JEE Main 2017.

This year JEE (Main) 2018 is scheduled to be conducted as follows:

  • JEE (Main) Pen and Paper Based - 08.04.2018
  • PAPER – 1 (B.E. / B.Tech.) - 0930-1230 hrs 
  • PAPER – 2 (B.Arch. / B.Planning) - 1400-1700 hrs
  • JEE (Main) Computer Based - 15/04/2018 (Sunday) and 16/04/2018 (Monday)