All About The GMAT

GMAT Scoring

An official GMAT® score report consists of four parts and is received after two weeks of the test:

  • Analytical Writing Assessment (AWA) Score (on a scale from 0 to 6)
  • Integrated Reasoning Score (on a scale from 0 to 8)
  • Verbal Scaled Score (on a scale from 0 to 60)
  • Quantitative Scaled Score (on a scale from 0 to 60)
  • Total Scaled Score (on a scale from 200 to 800)

The total score depends only on the verbal and quantitative scores. The AWA score and the Integrated Reasoning scores are independent and have no impact on the total scaled score.

Scores are determined by
  • Total number of questions answered
  • The number of questions answered correctly
  • Level of difficulty of the questions correctly answered

Although the verbal and quantitative sections are both scored on the same scale (from 0 to 60), the percentile associated with an individual score in the verbal section may be different from the percentile associated with the same score in the quantitative section. For example, a verbal scaled score of 38 places a student in the 83rd percentile for that section. A quantitative scaled score of 38, however, only places the student in the 53rd percentile for that section. Most of the schools look at only the overall score. A few may have a minimum for each segment.

Analytical Writing Assessment Scoring

Each essay is given two independent ratings. One by an independent evaluator who will evaluate the ideas of the student and the other by a computer programme referred to as an E-Rater which will also evaluate the language, structure, spellings, punctuation and grammatical errors. The response for each rating ranges from 0 – 6. If the two ratings differ by more than one point the rating of the second human rater is accepted. The final score is the average of the two ratings received for both the essays.