Engineering Services Exam

ESE stands for Engineering Services Examination. The examination is conducted by UPSC every year as a combined competitive examination for recruitment into various government engineering organisations like -

  • Indian Railway Services of Engineers (IRSE)
  • Central Engineering Services (CES)
  • Military Engineering Services (MES) &
  • 40+ other departmental organizations

The examination are conducted separately for the following departments -

  • Electrical Engineering
  • Civil Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Electronics & Telecommunication Engineering

The examination is conducted in three Stages -

  • Stage 1 – Preliminary
  • Stage 2 – Mains
  • Stage 3 – Personality Test

Final year student can also appear for the examination.

Cracking the ESE exam requires not just academic knowledge but also knowledge of General Studies & Engineering Aptitude. Right attitude and personality are also required to crack personality test.