SSC CHSL 2024 Notification Out ! 3712 Vacancies

SSC has released the notification for CHSL Examination 2024 (10+2) for recruiting Lower Divisional Clerk, Junior Secretariat Assistant and Data Entry Operators for various Ministries/ Departments/ Offices of the Government of India.

Total Vacancies announced are 3712.

(A) Important Dates:

Exam Dates of Tier I (Objective) : 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th, 8th, 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th July 2024

Exam dates of Tier II (Objective): To be notified later.

Dates for submission of online applications: 08-04-2024 to 07-05-2024.

(B) Eligibility (As on 01-08-2024):

(i) AGE LIMIT: 18-27 years


For Data Entry Operator (DEO)/ DEO Grade ‘A’ in Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution and Ministry of Culture: 12th Standard pass in Science stream with Mathematics as a subject from a recognized Board or equivalent.

For LDC/JSA and DEO/DEO Grade ‘A’ (except DEOs in Department/ Ministry mentioned above): Candidates must have passed 12th Standard or equivalent examination from a recognized Board or University.

The candidates who have appeared in their 12th Standard or equivalent examination can also apply, however they must possess Essential qualification on or before the cutoff date i.e. 01-08-2024. .

(C) Scheme of Examination:

The Computer Based Examination will be conducted in two tiers as indicated below:

Tier I Examination:

Scheme of SSC CHSL 2024 Tier I Examination
TIER I Test Area No of Qs Marks Time
General Intelligence 25 50 60 Minutes
General Awareness 25 50
Quantitative Aptitude (Basic Arithmetic Skill) 25 50
English Language (Basic Knowledge) 25 50
TOTAL 100 200

The Tier-I Examination will consist of Objective Type, Multiple choice questions only. The questions will be set in English, Hindi and any language opted by the candidate in the application form

There will be negative marking of 0.50 marks for each wrong answer. Candidates are, therefore, advised to keep this in mind while answering the questions.

Tier-II Examination:

Paper Session Subject No. of Qs Max Marks Duration
II Session I (2 Hr 15 Min) Section I :
Module I : Mathematical Abilities 30 60 * 3 = 180 60 Minutes
Module II : Reasoning & General Intelligence 30  
Section II :
Module I : English Language & Comprehension 40 60 * 3 = 180 60 Minutes
Module II : General Awareness 20  
Section III : Module I : Computer Knowledge Module 15 15 * 3 = 45 15 Minutes
Session II Section III: Module II : Skill test / Typing Test Module Part A: Skill Test for DEOs in Department / Ministry 15 Minutes
  Part B: Skill Test for DEOs except in Department/ Ministry 15 Minutes
  Part C: Typing Test for LDC/ JSA.   10 Minutes

  • Tier-II will be conducted in two sessions - Session –I & Session-II, on the same day. Session-I will include conducting of Section-I, Section-II and Module-I of Section-III. Session-II will include conducting of Module-II of Section-III.
  • It will be mandatory for the candidates to qualify all the sections of Tier-II.
  • There will be a negative marking of 1 mark for each wrong answer in Section-I, Section-II and Module-I of Section-III.
  • Module-I of Section-III i.e. Computer Knowledge Test is mandatory but qualifying in nature.
  • Skill Test/ Typing Test will be of qualifying nature.

(D) Other Important Points:

  • Minimum qualifying marks in Tier-I, Section-I, Section-II & Module-I of Section III of Tier-II Examination are as follows:
    UR : 30% OBC/ EWS : 25% All other categories : 20%
  • Candidates will be shortlisted for Tier-II Examination on the basis of their performance in Tier-I Examination. Normalized scores of candidates will be used to determine merit and for final selection.
  • There may be separate category-wise cut-offs in Tier-I and subsequent Tiers for different posts i.e. (i) DEO/ DEO Grade 'A' and (ii) LDC/ JSA
  • Tier-II Examination will be conducted for all the candidates qualified in Tier-I. In Tier-II, all the candidates will be required to appear in all three sections.
  • In Tier-II, it will be mandatory for the candidates to qualify all the sections.
  • Based on the aggregate performance in Section-I and Section-II of Tier-II Examination, candidates will be shortlisted for evaluation of Section-III of Tier-II Examination.
  • Section-III of Tier-II is qualifying in nature, in other words both modules i.e. Computer Knowledge Test and Skill Test/ Typing Test are qualifying in nature.
  • Skill Test for DEOs is mandatory for all the qualified candidates.
  • Typing Test for posts other than DEOs is mandatory for all candidates except those who are exempted from appearing in the Typing Test
  • Merit List will be prepared on the basis of aggregate marks scored in Section-I & Section-II of Tier-II examination only subject to qualifying Section-III (both modules) of Tier-II.
  • Final selection of candidates, in each category, will be made on the basis of „overall performance in Tier-II Examination‟ and „preference of posts‟ exercised by them.

(E) Application fee : ₹ 100/- (Rupees one hundred only). Women candidates and candidates belonging to Scheduled Caste (SC), Scheduled Tribe (ST), ESM eligible for reservation and Persons with benchmark disability (PwBD) are exempted from payment of fee.

(F) How to apply : Candidates must apply online through the official website.

Click here for official notification:

Click here to apply: